ARC Review: Contribute by Kristy Acevedo

29502065.jpgTitle: Contribute (Holo #2)
Author: Kristy Acevedo
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction
Expected Publication Date: July 11th 2017
Rating:

Synopsis: The holograms lied to everyone on Earth and only Alexandra Lucas knows the truth. Now she’s trapped in the year 2359 without family or friends—worse, without her anxiety medication. Alex attempts to reconcile the marvelous scenery, technological advances, and luxurious living with the knowledge that the holograms weren’t being completely honest—what else are they lying about? With a secret that could shatter her society, Alex tries to find her place among strangers, convicts, and a rebellion striving to bring the holograms down. Alex struggles to find the best way to reveal the truth and reunite with those she loves. But when surrounded by beauty and every convenience, Alex wonders if truth becomes irrelevant in a perfect world.

Please note that I received a free eARC via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review: I really don’t know how to start this review, I have so many feelings about Contribute and pretty much none of them are bad. I mean, who doesn’t want to read about girl with anxiety running into an alien portal into the complete unknown to find her boyfriend and tell most of the human race the truth about what really happened back on Earth? I really kick myself for not writing a review the first book Consider. Because I definitely really liked the book and I couldn’t wait for it’s sequel. And Contribute I think, really blew Consider out of the water.

“Would you rather contribute to society or destroy it?”

I kept asking myself how would I decide? Would I contribute and live a life of luxury or would I fight against it? Could you imagine living in a world where everything is already provided for you? Amazing immersive technology, no violence, a sustainable environment, and never having to work another day in your life? It sounds amazing, and something that I wonder if I could walk away from or even fight again. But then again, despite all that easy living there’s always a catch.

“My your contribution lead to freedom”

Having an MC with an anxiety disorder definitely hits close to home. I’d really love to see more characters who struggle with anxiety on all different levels and coping techniques. And even though my anxiety is not on Alex’s level, it’s pretty close and I think that really helped me connect with her and her situation. Plus, it’s really cool to see someone with anxiety in a life altering setting and not become a character who knows what to do and who to become immediately.

“I must lose myself to save myself”

That quote alone just blew me away completely. As someone who struggles with asking “who am I?” and “who do I want to become?” and figuring out how to even become myself, this book was a journey not only for characters but for me as well. I just really loved Alex. I felt all of her anxiety, I sympathized with her every step and loved watching her grow and push and still be standing on her feet (kind of) leading the charge at the end. It honestly gave me hope, so much hope that despite all of my anxiety and my struggles, I can still be someone who is worth something. Heroes emerge from many places and Alex can stand with the best of them.

To touch on a few other great things about Contribute, can we talk about the slight romance in this book? I mean, she pretty much jumped through a portal to go after her boyfriend and yet, the romance was not the most important part of the book. Surprised? Me too, in a good way! There’s a time when Alex is trying to come to terms with leading a ‘rebellion’ for the right reasons when the only real reason she came through the portal was to find Dominick (and her best friend, Rita). I feel like this was one of most honest portrayals of a love story within a book of this setting. And let’s not forget that Contribute dropped some of the best plot twists I’ve read in awhile. I love that I didn’t see them coming either, those are the plot twists I live for when it comes to reading.

So please, do yourself a favour and check out these books!

One thought on “ARC Review: Contribute by Kristy Acevedo

Leave a Reply

