ARC Review: In Ageless Sleep by Arden Ellis

34218098Title: In Ageless Sleep
Author: Arden Ellis
Genre: Science Fiction, LGBTQIA+, Romance
Publication Date: April 12th 2017
Rating

Synopsis: Mal is a spy, a misanthrope, and a coward; growing up in the brutal Reaches has taught her that honor is a quality best left to the dead. Her latest mission: to hijack a cryo-ship carrying the brilliant daughter of the Sovereign King, and deliver her straight into enemy hands.

But when a vital component of the ship’s cryostasis system malfunctions, the only person who can keep the unconscious passengers alive is the woman Mal was sent to kidnap. Alone together on a ship of silent sleepers, Mal must remember that she and Aurora are enemies—or risk them becoming something much more dangerous.

Please note that I received a free eARC via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Review: What can I even say about this book? It has a beautiful cover which I really loved. It was a fairly short read compared to what I usually read. So I really felt like it lacked a lot of development in characters and even the plot. Which really lead me to feel like this story was more unbelievable with each page. There wasn’t a lot of ways to connect with the characters despite the female/female romance connection.

That all on its own was weird enough. I understand the whole enemies to lovers trope but I feel like that wasn’t what this was. I mean, Mal (the main character) was pretty much holding Aurora hostage the entire time? And being a creep by watching Aurora every time she was put back to sleep. Like??????? How is that not concerning? Maybe I’m just not into the whole enemies to lovers trope that much but still. I feel like there’s a line where it becomes too creep and just not right.

All of this was really disappoint because I mean it had so many elements of a story that I thought I would enjoy. But unfortunately it went down hill real fast. Now, the rest of the plot wasn’t terrible. I like that it was in space and epic space ship battles. That I definitely wanted more of. I feel like for me that the story would have been ugh more success if there was more of that and less of the ‘romance’.

Overall, super disappointing and probably wouldn’t recommend.

Leave a Reply

